Article 1 | Celebrating Democracy: Indian General Elections

On March 10th the Election Commission of India announced the dates for the election of 543 seats for the 17th Lok Sabha (Lower House of the Indian Parliament). Scheduled to be rolled out in seven phases from April 11 to May 19, the results of the election will be declared on May 23. Four states will also hold simultaneous elections to their state legislative assemblies. They include Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim.

In this article, the first in a series about the upcoming Indian elections, Interel Indian experts explore what has been termed the “biggest carnival of democracy on earth.” The large number of electorate, their diversity and the complex political equations which guide the voting patterns make the election exercise both fascinating and unique.

Everything you need to know as we start our coverage of the Indian elections is available in the full report here.