Who We Are Services EXPERTISE Locations INTEREL GLOBAL PARTNERSHIP Insights Contact Us


Prime Minister Narendra Modi led Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) has swept the Lok Sabha (lower House of Parliament) elections of 2019, registering an impressive victory by winning 303 out of the 542 seats in an intense and decisive electoral battle. The principal opposition party, the Indian National Congress (INC) trailed much behind managing to win only 52 seats.

This victory is historic for many reasons, but primarily for the manner in which the Bharatiya Janta Party and its allies stormed into the bastions of powerful regional State parties such as the Trinamool Congress (TMC) in West Bengal, the Biju Janta Dal (BJD) in Odisha, the Communist Party of India (CPI) in Tripura, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in Andhra Pradesh and the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) in Telangana. These were some of the states where the BJP was expected to underperform, but the final results have proved contrary to expectations.

To read the full report click here.